In 2012, SEASECS established a prize in honor of its founding member, Annibel Jenkins. An award of $500 will be given annually for the best article in performance and theater studies published in a scholarly journal, annual, or collection between September 1, 2017 and August 31, 2018. Authors must be members of SEASECS at the time of submission. Articles may be submitted by the author or by another member.

The deadline for submissions is November 1, 2018. Please send submissions as PDF files, and address any queries about the prize to the Committee Chair:

Peggy Thompson
Agnes Scott College

2019 Winner: Leah Benedict, “Impotence Made Public: Reading Sex on the Stage and in the Courtroom,” ELH vol. 85, no. 2, Summer 2018: 441-69.

2018 Winner: Diana Solomon, “The Jolt of Jacobean Tragicomedy: Double Falsehood on the Eighteenth-Century English Stage.” In Revisiting Shakespeare’s Lost Play: Cardenio/Double Falsehood in the Eighteenth Century. Ed. Deborah C. Payne. Palgrave, 2016.

2017 Winner: Terry F. Robinson, "Becoming Somebody: Refashioning the Body Politic in Mary Robinson's Nobody." Studies in Romanticism 55 (Summer 2016), 143-84.

2016 Winner: Heather McPherson, “Tragic Pallor and Siddons.” Eighteenth-Century Studies 48.4 (Summer 2015), 479-502.

2015 Winner: Daniel J. Ennis, “Christopher Smart, Mary Midnight and the Haymarket, 1755,” in  Reading Christopher Smart in the 21st Century. Edited by Min Wild and Noel Chevalier. Lewisburg: Bucknell University Press, 2013.

2014 Winner: Anne Greenfield, "D'Avenant's Lady Macduff: Ideal Femininity and Subversive Politics." Restoration 37.1 (Spring 2013), 39-60.